Venture Officers Association

Core Awards

Venturing’s core awards consist of the Venturing, Discovery, Pathfinder, and Summit awards. Each award is based on the ALPS model: Adventure, Leadership, Personal growth, and Service. They serve as benchmarks for a Venturer’s journey and are designed to work with all crews. ClICK HERE to see the Core Award requirements.

Specialty Awards

Venturers are encouraged to explore and discover interests and passions. Although specialty awards are not part of Venturing’s core program, they allow self-discovery by exploring certain areas in depth. The Ranger Award, Quest Award, TRUST Award, and Nova Awards provide opportunities for Venturers to discover the outdoors, sports, their faith, and science. CLICK HERE to see the different Specialty Awards and their requirements.
Venturing Leadership Award (VLA)
The Venturing Leadership Award (VLA) is a national level achievement presented by councils, areas, regions, or the national council. It recognizes Venturers and Advisors who made significant contributions to the Venturing program while exemplifying the Scout Oath and Law. CLICK HERE for qualifications, guidelines, and nomination forms.


411 W Boy Scout Way

Spokane, WA 99201

PHONE: (800) 945-4390

PHONE: (509) 325-4562

FAX: (509) 242-8233


411 W Boy Scout Way

Spokane, WA 99201

PHONE: (509) 325-0932

Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout law

A Scout is Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, Kind, Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty, Brave, Clean, and Reverent. 


  • Facebook Social Icon